Woking RFC 2nd XV 35 – 0 Reigate RFC 2nd XV

Match Date: 
Woking Team: 
Second XV
Opponent Team: 
Reigate RFC 2nd XV


Woking Score: 
Opponent Score: 

Woking RFC 2nd XV 35 – 0 Reigate RFC 2nd XV
After a season of ups and downs, Woking aimed to finish on a high with a visit to Esher for the Surrey league finals day. Off the field, things did not get off to the best start with a mixup over kick off times meant that players were still arriving after the rescheduled kick off time. Fortunately Reigate were in the same position which gave Woking opportunity to change and get a quality warm up & run through under the watchful eye of coaches Pete D’Cruz and Sophie Williamson.
After a thirty minute delay, the game got underway with openside and captain Ben Dinsdale winning his own sides kick off for Woking. From the off, Woking set the platform they wanted in both set piece and open play. However small mistakes and spoiling by Reigate in defence meant the score stood at 0-0. Eventually Woking got on the board, a lineout from a penalty was won by Matthew Brennan who set up the drive. From there, the forwards kept the ball tight and it was No8 Jordan Mayes who crashed over to put Woking five nil up.
From the kick off, Woking took the ball on. However Reigate were still fighting and managed to disrupt a ruck. Confusion in the forwards saw a boot to the ball in the wrong direction and it was only some smart action from centre James Plowright which got Woking out of trouble. Shortly after, Woking were pressing again when an interception from the Reigate centre saw him stream down the pitch. Great work from prop Simon Power and scrum half Harry Jarman saw Woking win a turnover to hold their lead. The second try was soon to come with Jordan Mayes storming up field again. Once recycled, centre Justin Dougherty took the ball within metres of the line. With a huge overlap, outside half Pete D’Cruz had a huge choice of supporting players to choose from and it was Ben Dinsdale who gratefully took the pass to crash over. Shortly after, Jordan Mayes grabbed a second try from a tapped penalty to make the score at half time fifteen nil to Woking.
Half time: Woking 15 (Mayes x2, Dinsdale) Reigate 0.
The second half started in much the same fashion with the Woking forwards setting a solid base for the backs to utilise the space. Centre James Plowright was consistently crossing the gainline and causing real problems for the Reigate defence. After another strong run by Plowright, Pete D’Cruz spun the ball wide where it reached winger Danny Collins. It appeared disaster struck when Collins dived on the five metre line. Fortunately he realised his mistake and scrambled over to take the score to twenty nil.
Reigate again were not going to roll over and continued to hold out Woking. The legality of some of their tactics was debatable and Woking lost Harry Jarman to a head injury and Ben Dinsdale who was hit late while crossing for his second try. With fresh legs coming on and Reigate’s bench empty, the game was truly consolidated with winger Ben Hall taking advantage of an overlap and then nicely cutting back inside to score. To end it all, second row Lee Abi Haydar drove over from short range to seal the win for Woking thirty five points to zero.
Full time: Woking 35 (Mayes x2, Dinsdale x2, Collins, Hall, Haydar).
After the game it was the awards ceremony where captain Ben Dinsdale was awarded the regular season league trophy and the league final trophy from Surrey RFU Chairman Tony Price. Regular Captain Ross Cahalane who watched the game from his suite at the Bellagio in Las Vegas commented “What a great way to end the season. The boys showed what they are capable of and I couldn’t be prouder. I just wish I could be there to celebrate it with them. I am confident we can go from strength to strength in the 18/19 season under our new captain Ben Dinsdale.”
Neal Otter, Oliver Nutt, Simon Power, Jon Hursthouse, Lee Abi Haydar, Matthew Brennan, Benjamin Dinsdale, Jordan Mayes, Harry Jarman, Pete D'cruz, Ben Hall, Justin Dougherty, James Plowright, Daniel Collins, Evan Marchant, Mark Sargeson, Josh Parker, Tom Smith, John Neil Dickie, Ben Simmons